Back to All Events

Signing and Reading with Author Bernard Mansheim

According to the NIH, physicians are more than twice as likely as non-physicians to commit suicide. The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention estimates that 300-400 physicians take their own lives each year, averaging approximately one doctor each day. 

a doctor a day.jpg

Shedding light on the psychological burden shouldered by many practicing doctors, A Doctor A Day by Bernard Mansheim introduces readers to the immensely likeable Dr. Luke James, who is half-way through his tenth year of medical practice and barely keeping his head above water. The pressures of caring for and diagnosing dying patients year after year and being chained to a pager - his whole life consumed by cancer, heart attacks, strokes, and relentless calls from ICU - seem unending. From the demands of James' daily practice emerges an accusation of malpractice, tipping the doctor ever closer to the edge of what he can psychologically and emotionally withstand. 

With grace and poignancy, Dr. Mansheim has penned a novel that is certain to appeal to readers of When Breath Becomes Air and Do No Harm, and that gently but relentlessly begs the question, who heals the healer?

Later Event: October 25
Tunes & Tales with Jamie