Book Release Party: The Dead Inside

Join Main Street Books for a party celebrating the release of YA memoir The Dead Inside. For readers of Girl Interrupted and Tweak, Cyndy Etler’s gripping memoir gives readers a glimpse into the harrowing reality of her 16 months in the notorious "tough love" program the ACLU called “a concentration camp for throwaway kids.”

"I never was a badass. Or a slut, a junkie, a stoner, like they told me I was," Etler writes. "I was just a kid looking for something good, something that felt like love. I was a wannabe in a Levi’s jean jacket. Anybody could see that. Except my mother. And the professionals at Straight."

All Cyndy wanted was to be loved and accepted. By age fourteen, she had escaped from her violent home, only to be reported as a runaway and sent to a “drug rehabilitation” facility that changed her world. To the public, Straight Inc. was a place of recovery. But behind closed doors, the program used bizarre and intimidating methods to “treat” its patients. In her raw and fearless memoir, Cyndy Etler recounts her sixteen months in the living nightmare that Straight Inc. considered “healing.”


Advance praise for The Dead Inside:

“Etler weaves her story with conviction, self-deprecating humor, and hard facts… Readers will come to respect the fighter that Etler is and the advocate she became for other teens in similar situations.” —Booklist

“[An] unnerving and heartrending memoir…readers may be stunned that a place like Straight could exist, let alone that a parent would willingly send a child there.” —Publisher Weekly