Back to All Events

Summer Kickoff Party

Start your summer with Saturday morning story time!

shark-nate-o-9781499804966_lg.jpg

Nate loves sharks. He even likes to pretend he's a shark wherever he goes! However, there is one small problem. . . . Nate can't swim. When his older brother points this out, Nate works hard to overcome his fears and swim without help, as quickly and as gracefully as a shark. Will he be able to beat his brother in a swim tryout and get his bite back? 

Find out at 10 a.m. story time, hosted by the author of Shark Nate-O, Tara Luebbe.

 

Then, cut your (shark) teeth on a presentation with Ashley Oliphant.

20966995.jpg

Oliphant is the author of Shark Tooth Hunting on the Carolina Coast, a basic guide on how to find and identify fossil shark teeth from the coast of the Carolinas. Oliphant and a fascinating collection of shark teeth will be stationed in front of the store from 10 to 11 a.m. At 11 a.m., join Oliphant inside for a fun introductory lesson on sharks and their terrifying teeth.

 

Tap into your inner competitor during a summertime scavenger hunt.


Get your game face on, because MSB is throwing down the gauntlet. An epic, town-wide scavenger hunt awaits challengers of all ages at 3 p.m. Teams of up to four people can compete and should begin their quest at the bookstore.

 

Finally, hunker down in the store for snacks, nail art, and authors!

1E271D36-2D41-4450-A4E3-6CCE94BBFC8B-195x300.jpeg

 Mary Jane Capps is the New Orleans-based author of Crescent and, most recently, Iloray, a story of the sea and the secrets it holds, of coming into one's own and learning to lead when it matters most.

SeasonYou&Me_final+comp.jpg


Robin Constantine is the author The Season of You and Me, a beachy story about growing up, making difficult choices, and love, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.

Join Mary Jane and Robin at 4 p.m. for an afternoon of snacks, sea-themed manicures, and a rousing game of Would You Rather.
 

Earlier Event: May 31
David Sedaris at Main Street Books
Later Event: June 9
Reading + Signing: Robert Bailey