Back to All Events

An Afternoon with Lisa Kline

Charlotte Writers’ Club North and Main Street Books are pleased to host Lisa Williams Kline for a reading and signing of her new YA novel, One Week of You.

One_Week_of_You.jpg

Fifteen-year-old Lizzy Winston has always been a good kid—and she sees the good in most everyone else, too. When she meets the charismatic Andy Masters, she starts crushing hard. He distracts her from other parts of her life that she’s trying to hold together. Her grades are slipping, she causes her mom to miss a new job opportunity, and her friends’ actions are making her question what’s right.

Andy seems like a great guy. He’s funny and charming, the Clown Prince of Lakeside High. He loves digging up news stories for the high school TV station, but he’s got some secrets of his own. As he and Lizzy get closer, she grows skeptical of his motives. When she does her own digging on Andy, she learns that everyone has secrets—no matter how good they seem.

Someone’s pulling pranks at Lakeside, and Lizzy thinks she knows who it is. When the pranks escalate and put students in danger, she must decide where her loyalty lies. She doesn’t want to get a friend in trouble, but if she keeps quiet, someone will get hurt. In one week, she learns that adulthood brings new, complicated responsibilities. Is she ready to do the right thing if it means losing her friends?

Fans of Eleanor and Park and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda will delight in this heartwarming coming of age story about first loves and hard truths.

Earlier Event: March 19
Main Street Readers Book Club
Later Event: April 16
Main Street Readers Book Club