Back to All Events

Release Party with Author Amber Smith

Amber-Smith-Deborah-Triplett.jpg

Main Street Books is thrilled to host a release party for New York Times bestselling young adult author Amber Smith. To celebrate the launch of Amber Smith’s new book, Something Like Gravity, the bookstore will offer rainbow cupcakes, a bomb pride playlist, a book giveaway (tune in to our Insta account for more info!), and face time with author Amber Smith.

Additionally, for every Amber Smith book sold during the launch, Main Street Books and Amber Smith will donation a portion of proceeds to Lake Norman Connects, a local nonprofit that seeks to provide free resources and programming to the Lake Norman LGBTQ community.


About Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith:

something like gravity.jpg

For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor and Park, Something Like Gravity is a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time—and how first love changes us all—from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren’t off to a great start. A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don’t fare much better. Chris’s good intentions backfire. Maia’s temper gets the best of her.

But they’re neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can’t seem to stay away from each other. The path forward isn’t easy. Chris has come out as transgender, but he’s still processing a frightening assault he survived the year before. Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister and trying to find her place in the world without her. Falling in love was the last thing on either of their minds.

But would it be so bad if it happened anyway?

Later Event: June 19
Story Time with Leslie